top of page

The Lauwiner Empire Order of Merit

Lauwiner Empire Order of Merit Medal wit

The Order of Merit was instituted by King Jonas I in 2017, on the occasion of his coronation. The order, which has six classes, is awarded by the sovereign himself to persons who have rendered exceptionally meritorious service to the Crown, in armed services or towards the advancement of arts, literature and science, or to persons upon whom the Sovereign sees fit to confer the honor. Membership in the Order consists of the Sovereign and not more than 40 living members. Members of the Order of Merit have the right to use the postnominals “LEH”. The Order carries six classes. It is awarded to citizens of all countries in the world.

Description of the medal

The insignia of the award is a red-enameled Maltese Cross with golden eagles between the arms (which is based on the symbol of the Johanniter Order). Surmounted by the imperial crown and the Lauwiner Empire cypher followed by the words Pour le Mérite ("For Merit" in French) written in gold letters on the body of the cross. All plated with 24 Karat gold. The neck ribbon is black with four gold 5mm wide lines in pairs on top and bottom of the ribbon. 

bottom of page